participating at
Artissima Unplugged
Frenetic Standstill
Curated by Ilaria Bonacossa
GAM – Galleria Civica d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea
Turin, Italy
NOV 7, 2020 – JAN 9, 2021

Solo Exhibition
Space Junk
Curated by Letizia Ragaglia and Frida Carazzato
Museion
Bolzano, Italy
until JAN 31, 2021

Frenetic Standstill, GAM – Galleria Civica d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea, Turin; Photo: Perottino-Piva / Artissima 2020

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
Stahl
DM 80 cm, L 95 cm

Wie nehmen wir vertraute Räume und Objekte wahr, wenn sie durch künstlerische Transformationsprozesse aus ihren konkreten historischen Zusammenhängen gelöst werden? Wie reagieren wir, wenn die Grundlagen unserer Wahrnehmung, die von kollektiven, historischen und medialen Erfahrungsmustern geprägt sind, herausgefordert werden? Die medienübergreifend arbeitende Künstlerin Sonia Leimer nähert sich mit ihren Arbeiten diesen Fragen und macht historische und gesellschaftliche Veränderungen erfahrbar. Einzelne Werke und Werkgruppen setzt sie in installative, räumliche Kontexte, wodurch sie in einen Dialog miteinander treten und ihre jeweilige Bedeutung über die unterschiedlichen Anordnungen verändern.

Artissima Unplugged

In Anbetracht der gegenwärtigen Situation, ist Artissima Unplugged als das Format der Artissima 2020 hervorgangen. Sich über die gesamte Stadt erstreckend, werden drei physische Ausstellungen vereint mit ihrer digitalen Präsentation. Eine dieser Ausstellungen – Frenetic Standstill in der Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea (GAM) –, zeigt Sonia Leimer‘s Space Junk.

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
Stahl
DM 80 cm

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
Stahl, verzinktes Stahlseil
DM 50 cm

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
Stahl
DM 40 cm / VK PIERRE BERTIAUX

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
Stahl, verzinktes Stahlseil
DM 60 cm

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
Aluminium, Ton, Acrylfarbe
130 x 160 x 80 cm

Space Junk

Dem Weltraummüll aus vergangenen Forschungsexpeditionen und alten Satelliten, der sich im Orbit ansammelt, gilt das Interesse Leimers in ihrer fortlaufenden Werkserie Space Junk. Sie konzentriert sich auf diese funktionslosen Fragmente, Reste von utopischen Geschichten, die auf die Erde zurückfallen und dann meistens verglühen. Die metallenen Objekte weisen deutlich die Spuren ihrer Reise auf und verwischen in ihrer Erscheinung die Grenzen zwischen Fiktion und Wissenschaft. Ihr fragmentarischer Charakter lässt an die utopischen Vorstellungen und den Fortschrittsglauben der Moderne denken und deutet damit gleichzeitig auf infrastrukturelle, soziale und ethische Fragen hin, mit denen wir gegenwärtig konfrontiert sind.

Blinder Fleck

Für die Werkgruppe Blinder Fleck entlehnt Sonia Leimer erneut Versatzstücke aus der Weltraumfahrt und verbindet diese mit ökologischen Fragestellungen. Für die collageartig aufgebauten Siebdrucke verwendet sie Reste von Isolationsfolien, die ursprünglich für Satelliten entwickelt wurden. Der „Blinde Fleck“ verweist auf das Phänomen von kollektivem wie subjektivem Verdrängen und Ausblenden. Bei Sonia Leimer aber wird er zu einem unübersehbaren Chiffre. Zurechtgeschnitten, als würde er scheinbare Fehlstellen überdecken, prangt er golden schimmernd wie eine Aufforderung zur Selbstreflexion auf der Oberfläche ­des Mondes und unserer bewussten Wahrnehmung.

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Sonia Leimer

Blinder Fleck, 2016
Siebdruck auf Magnetfolie und Isolationsfolie entwickelt für die Raumfahrt, Magnetfarbe
120 x 100 cm

Sonia Leimer

Blinder Fleck, 2016
Siebdruck auf Magnetfolie und Isolationsfolie entwickelt für die Raumfahrt, Magnetfarbe
120 x 100 cm

Sonia Leimer

Blinder Fleck, 2016
Siebdruck auf Magnetfolie und Isolationsfolie entwickelt für die Raumfahrt, Magnetfarbe
120 x 100 cm

Poetiken des Materials, Leopold Museum, Vienna, 2016-2017; Photo: Lisa Rastl

Photo: Corinne Rusch

Inquire about presented or related artworks


Get in touch

---design and development by christian mueller---

participating at
Artissima Unplugged
Frenetic Standstill
Curated by Ilaria Bonacossa
GAM – Galleria Civica d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea
Turin, Italy
NOV 7, 2020 – JAN 9, 2021

Solo Exhibition
Space Junk
Curated by Letizia Ragaglia and Frida Carazzato
Museion
Bolzano, Italy
until JAN 31, 2021

Frenetic Standstill, GAM – Galleria Civica d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea, Turin; Photo: Perottino-Piva / Artissima 2020

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
steel
dm 80 cm (31 1/2 in.)
length 95 cm (37 3/8 in.)

How do we perceive familiar places and objects when they have been altered through artistic transformation and taken out of their specific historical contexts? How do we react when the foundations of our perception, which are defined by collective, historical, and media-related patterns of experience, are challenged? These are central questions that interest multi-media artist Sonia Leimer, whose work renders historical and social changes tangible. Leimer situates individual or groups of works in the context of spatial installations, letting them converse with one another as their meanings shift with each new arrangement.

Artissima Unplugged

Considerung the current events, Artissima Unplugged emerged as the format of the Artissima 2020. Expanding throughout the city of Turin, it combines three physical exhibitions with digital projects. In one of these exhibitions – Frenetic Standstill at the Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea (GAM) –, Sonia Leimer‘s Space Junk is being shown.

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
steel
dm 80 cm (31 1/2 in.)

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
steel, galvanized steel rope
dm 50 cm (19 3/4 in.)

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
steel
dm 40 cm (15 3/4 in.)

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
steel, galvanized steel rope
dm 60 cm (23 5/8 in.)

Sonia Leimer

Space Junk, 2020
aluminum, clay, acrylic
130 x 160 x 80 cm (51 3/16 x 63 x 31 1/2 in.)

Space Junk

Leimer’s ongoing series of works Space Junk focuses on space debris of past research expeditions and old satellites, that accumulates in orbit. These fragments no longer have a function, but are mere leftovers of utopian narratives that usually burn up when they fall back to Earth. The appearance of these metal objects, clearly marked by their journeys, blurs the boundaries between fiction and science. While their fragmentary character is reminiscent of modernism’s utopian notions and faith in progress, they also point to the infrastructural, social, and ethical issues confronting us today.

Blind Spot

Leimer’s group of works Blinder Fleck (Blind Spot) also borrows elements from space travel, which it combines with ecological and ethical issues. In these screen prints, which are structured like collages, pieces of leftover insulation foil made for satellites are used. Constituting a “blind spot,” these refer to the phenomenon of collectively and individually repressing or blocking out something. However, in Leimer’s works, the blind spot becomes a symbol that cannot be ignored. Cropped so as to appear as if it is covering apparent blemishes, it shimmers golden on the surface of the moon and in our conscious perception, inviting self-reflection.

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Space Junk, Museion, Bolzano, Italy, 2020; Photo: Laura Egger

Sonia Leimer

Blind Spot, 2016
silkscreen print on magnet foil and insulation foil developed for space flight, magnet paint
120 x 100 cm (47 1/4 x 39 3/8 in.)

Sonia Leimer

Blind Spot, 2016
silkscreen print on magnet foil and insulation foil developed for space flight, magnet paint
120 x 100 cm (47 1/4 x 39 3/8 in.)

Sonia Leimer

Blind Spot, 2016
silkscreen print on magnet foil and insulation foil developed for space flight, magnet paint
120 x 100 cm (47 1/4 x 39 3/8 in.)

Poetiken des Materials, Leopold Museum, Vienna, 2016-2017; Photo: Lisa Rastl

Photo: Corinne Rusch

Inquire about presented or related artworks


Get in touch

---design and development by christian mueller---